The Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60, is a symphony in four movements composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in the summer of 1806.[1] It was premiered in March 1807 at a private concert at the home of Joseph Franz von Lobkowitz.
The work was dedicated to Count Franz von Oppersdorff, a relative of Beethoven’s patron, Prince Lichnowsky. The Count met Beethoven when he traveled to Lichnowsky’s summer home, where Beethoven was staying. Von Oppersdorff listened to Beethoven’s Symphony No. 2 in D major, and liked it so much that he offered a large amount of money for Beethoven to compose a new symphony for him. Beethoven undertook the new work during the summer of 1806 and completed it in roughly a month, while also working on the Fourth Piano Concerto and revising his opera Fidelio, then still known as Leonore. The dedication was made to “the Silesian nobleman Count Franz von Oppersdorff”.

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 4
1. Adagio – Allegro vivace 13:28
2. Adagio 10:37
3. Menuetto: Allegro vivace – Trio un poco meno allegro 5:58
4. Allegro ma non troppo 7:10


Comments are closed