The Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 118, are some of the most beloved compositions that Johannes Brahms wrote for solo piano. Completed in 1893 and dedicated to Clara Schumann, the collection was the penultimate composition published during Brahms’ lifetime. It was also his penultimate work composed for piano solo. Consistent with Brahms’s other late keyboard works, Op. 118 is more introspective than his earlier piano pieces, which tended to be more virtuosic in character. The six pieces are:

Intermezzo in A minor. Allegro non assai, ma molto appassionato
Intermezzo in A major. Andante teneramente
Ballade in G minor. Allegro energico
Intermezzo in F minor. Allegretto un poco agitato
Romanze in F major. Andante
Intermezzo in E♭ minor. Andante, largo e mesto

Brahms – 6 Piano Pieces Op. 118 – II. Intermezzo


Comments are closed