The Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90, is a symphony by Johannes Brahms. The work was written in the summer of 1883 at Wiesbaden, nearly six years after he completed his Symphony No. 2. In the interim Brahms had written some of his greatest works, including the Violin Concerto, two overtures (Tragic Overture and Academic Festival Overture), and Piano Concerto No. 2.

The premiere performance was given on 2 December 1883 by the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, under the direction of Hans Richter. It is the shortest of Brahms’ four symphonies; a typical performance lasts between 30 and 40 minutes.
The symphony consists of four movements, marked as follows:

Allegro con brio (F major, in sonata form)
Andante (C major, in a modified sonata form)
Poco allegretto (C minor, in ternary form A–B–A′)
Allegro — Un poco sostenuto (F minor → F major, in a modified sonata form)

Brahms – Symphony No. 3 in F Major Op. 90


Comments are closed