Franz Schubert – Symphony No 3: Presto Vivace

Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 3 in D major, D 200, was written between 24 May and 19 July 1815, a few months after his eighteenth birthday. Like the other early symphonies (the six written before the “Unfinished” Symphony of 1822), it was not published during Schubert’s lifetime. It appeared many years later, in the first Schubert complete works edition in 1884. It is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings.
The length of this symphony is approximately 21–23 minutes. It is in four movements:
I. Adagio maestoso – Allegro con brio (222 bars)
II. Allegretto in G major (124 bars)
III. Menuetto. Vivace (56 bars + Trio 28 bars)
IV. Presto vivace (410 bars)


Comments are closed