Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky (21 March [O.S. 9 March] 1839 – 28 March [O.S. 16 March] 1881) was a Russian composer, one of the group known as “The Five”. He was an innovator of Russian music in the romantic period. He strove to achieve a uniquely Russian musical identity, often in deliberate defiance of the established conventions of Western music.

Many of his works were inspired by Russian history, Russian folklore, and other national themes. Such works include the opera Boris Godunov, the orchestral tone poem Night on Bald Mountain and the piano suite Pictures at an Exhibition.

For many years Mussorgsky’s works were mainly known in versions revised or completed by other composers. Many of his most important compositions have posthumously come into their own in their original forms, and some of the original scores are now also available.

Modest Mussorgsky

Quadros de uma exposição
1. Promenade
2. Gnomo
3. Promenade
4. O Velho Castelho
5. Promenade
6. Tulherias
7. Bydlo
8. Promenade
9. Balé dos Pintinhos n as Cascas de Ovos
10. Samuel Goldenberg e Schumyle
11. O Mercado Limoges
12. Catacumbas
13. Cum Mortius in Lingu a Morta
14. A Cabana Sobre Patas de Galinha, “Baba Yaga”
15. O Grande Portal de Kiev
16. Uma Noite no Monte Calvo
17. Síntese Sinfônica Sobre Boris Godunov


Comments are closed