Gabriel Fauré – Messe Basse

The Messe des pêcheurs de Villerville (Mass of the fishermen of Villerville) is a missa brevis written by Gabriel Fauré in collaboration with his former pupil André Messager. A later version, published as Messe basse contained only movements composed by Fauré.
In 1907, Heugel & Cie. published a version of the mass, removing Messager’s sections and the Gloria (apart from a part of its music that was reused for the added Benedictus), and incorporating a new Kyrie by Fauré; this version, produced by Fauré in 1906, appeared under the title Messe basse.

1. Kyrie 1:59
2. Sanctus 2:10
3. Benedictus 2:22
4. Agnus Dei 2:46


Comments are closed