The String Quartet No. 19 in C Major, K. 465 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, nicknamed “Dissonance” on account of its unusual slow introduction, is perhaps the most famous of his quartets. It is the last in the set of six quartets composed between 1782 and 1785 that he dedicated to Joseph Haydn.
According to the catalogue of works Mozart began early the preceding year, the quartet was completed on 14 January 1785.
As is normal with Mozart’s later quartets, it is in four movements:

Andante cantabile in F major
Menuetto. Allegro. (C major, trio in C minor)
Allegro molto

Mozart – String Quartet No. 19 in C major ‘Dissonant’ K 465


Comments are closed