Giovanni Battista Pergolesi

Stabat Mater is a musical setting of the Stabat Mater sequence, composed by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi in 1736. Composed in the final weeks of Pergolesi’s life, it is scored for soprano and alto soloists, violin I and II, viola and basso continuo (cello and organ).
Many pieces which were said to have been composed by Pergolesi have been misattributed; the Stabat Mater is definitely by Pergolesi, as a manuscript in his handwriting has been preserved. The work was composed for a Neapolitan confraternity, the Confraternita dei Cavalieri di San Luigi di Palazzo, which had also commissioned a Stabat Mater from Alessandro Scarlatti. Pergolesi composed it during his final illness from tuberculosis in a Franciscan monastery in Pozzuoli, along with a Salve Regina setting, and, as it is said, finished it right before he died.

Stabat Mater
1. Stabat Mater dolorosa 4:42
2. Cujus animam gementem 2:56
3. O quam tristis et afflicta 2:23
4. Quae moerebat et dolebat 2:37
5. Quis est homo, qui non fleret 3:05
6. Vidit suum duleem natum 3:43
7. Eja Mater, fons amoris 2:39
8. Fac ut ardeat cor meum 2:20
9. Sancta Mater, istud agas 6:18
10. Fac ut portem Christi mortem 3:33
11. Inflammatus et accensus 2:23
12. Quando corpus morietur – Amen 4:49

Comments are closed