The violin sonata no. 1 in A minor, opus 105 of Robert Schumann was written the week of September 12– 16 September 1851. Schumann was reported to have expressed displeasure with the work (“I did not like the first Sonata for Violin and Piano; so I wrote a second one, which I hope has turned out better”). This was also the year of the premiere of the Rhenish symphony , and among compositions the substantial revision of the fourth symphony, the third piano trio, the oratorio Der Rose Pilgerfahrt, a number of piano works and two of his concert overtures, Julius Caesar (after Shakespeare) and Hermann und Dorothea after Goethe.
It was given its official premiere by Clara Schumann and Ferdinand David in March 1852 .
The sonata has three movements:
1. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck (dotted quarter = 68, or, 68 dotted quarter notes in each minute), 6
8 time, 209 bars in A minor
2. Allegretto (eighth note = 96), 2
4 time, 79 bars in F major
3. Lebhaft (quarter note = 94), 2
4 time, 213 bars in A minor

Robert Schumann

Violin Sonata No. 1 Op. 105


Comments are closed