Johann Strauss II (born Johann Baptist Strauss; 25 October 1825 – 3 June 1899), also known as Johann Strauss Jr., the Younger, the Son (German: Sohn), son of Johann Strauss I, was an Austrian composer of light music, particularly dance music and operettas. He composed over 500 waltzes, polkas, quadrilles, and other types of dance music, as well as several operettas and a ballet. In his lifetime, he was known as “The Waltz King”, and was largely responsible for the popularity of the waltz in Vienna during the 19th century.

Strauss had two younger brothers, Josef and Eduard Strauss, who became composers of light music as well, although they were never as well known as their elder brother. Some of Johann Strauss’s most famous works include “The Blue Danube”, “Kaiser-Walzer” (Emperor Waltz), “Tales from the Vienna Woods”, and the “Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka”. Among his operettas, Die Fledermaus and Der Zigeunerbaron are the best known.

Johann Strauss

1. Abertura de la opereta: O Barão Cigano
2. Polka de Ana, Op. 117
3. Valsa do Imperador, Op. 437
4. Klange aus der Raimundzeit, Op. 479
5. Polka Tritsch-Tratsch, Op. 214
6. Vinho, Mulheres e Canto, Op. 333
7. Polka Champagne, Op. 211
8. Czardas da Opereta: O Morcego
9. Polka Im Krapfenwald’l, Op. 336
10. Abertura de Opereta: Uma noite em Veneza
11. Vinho, Mulheres e Canto, Op. 333
12. Valsa do Imperador, Op. 437
13. Valsas – Canções de, Amor Op. 114
14. Sangue Vienense, Op. 354
15. Rosas do Sul, Op. 388
16. Valsas do Tesouro, Op 418


Comments are closed