Villa-Lobos – Bachianas Brasileiras No. 2

The Bachianas Brasileiras are a series of nine suites by the Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos, written for various combinations of instruments and voices between 1930 and 1945. They represent not so much a fusion of Brazilian folk and popular music on the one hand, and the style of Johann Sebastian Bach on the other, as an attempt freely to adapt a number of Baroque harmonic and contrapuntal procedures to Brazilian music (Béhague 1994, 106; Béhague 2001). Most of the movements in each suite have two titles: one “Bachian” (Preludio, Fuga, etc.), the other Brazilian (Embolada, O canto da nossa terra, etc.).

Bachianas Brasileiras Nº 2
1. Canto do Capadócio
2. Canto da Nossa Terra
3. Lembrança do Sertão
4. O Trenzinho do Caipira


Comments are closed